Gratitude Conclusions

Standard

Ever since my daughter was born, I’ve really wanted to overhaul my wardrobe.  I would also like a bigger house.  And an embroidery machine.  And my own set of steel drums.  And a new set of cowboy boots.  And an iPad.  Even more so, I would like to embrace an ‘attitude of gratitude’- helping me to put my world into perspective and illuminate all of the blessings in my life.  I am blessed and lucky and so grateful for everything in my life.  There are times when my daughter will wake up in the wee hours of the night and I have to remind myself that I’m lucky to get to comfort my daughter, to have this opportunity to snuggle her.  Of course, there are many, many more “opportunities” in which I am cranky and impatient in getting her back to sleep.

Here’s a post about teaching gratitude to children.  It’s a lovely post- for which I’m grateful.

I’ve had December’s resolution decided for months.  I’m desperate to get back to start a meditation practice.  And what better month to be present?  A month that is all about presents!  (Yech, yech!  Get it?)  No, really- I know in this chaotic month that being grounded will be both a challenge, and a necessity.

So, today (and feel free to join me, right now), I’m going to start with the simplest -and hardest?- of meditations.  Just me, and my breath.  In and out.  Observing my thoughts, but focused on my breath.   I’m hoping I’ll be able to do this for at least 48 seconds.

Welcome, December.  Wishing you all a peaceful holiday!

3 responses »

  1. I have an iPad. It’s just a big iPhone. If you have an iPhone, you have the gist of the iPad. ‘Cept it’s, like, bigger.

    Where it comes in handy is if you’re traveling and you don’t want to lug a laptop somewhere. Then you subscribe to 3G service while you’re on vacation. Or, I guess, if you want to lounge in the same room as other people and don’t want to be totally obvious that you’re on a laptop. Also handy to show pictures. Battery life is so much better than an iPhone.

    I got the thing to read eBooks at work, but the type is small enough that I have to hold it close enough to need reading glasses. You may also want to wait until they have the Retina technology for the iPad since it’s just a hair too fuzzy for reading PDF files clearly without eyestrain.

    But otherwise it’s just a big iPhone.

  2. Pingback: Simple Truths #2 « The Resolution Revolution

Leave a Reply

