My Library Requests

Standard

O magazine recommended the following 20 poetry books:

  • The Complete Poems, 1927-1979 by Elizabeth Bishop
  • Migration by W.S. Merwin
  • The Essential Rumi
  • Twenty Love Poems And A Song of Depair by Pablo Neruda
  • Opened Ground: Selected Poems 1966-1996 by Seamus Heaney
  • The Complete Collected Poems of Maya Angelou
  • The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson
  • Mother Love by Rita Dove
  • Selected Poems by Frank O’Hara
  • The Wind Blows Through the Doors of My Heart by Deborah Diggs
  • A New Selected Poems by Galway Kinnell
  • View With A Grain of Sand by Wislawa Szymborska
  • The Poetry of Robert Frost
  • The Best of It: New and Selected Poems by Kay Ryan
  • E.E. Cummings: Complete Poems 1904-1962
  • Dream Work by Mary Oliver
  • The Essential Gwendolyn Brooks
  • Ariel: The Restored Edition by Sylvia Plath
  • The Collected Poems of Langston Hughes
  • William Carlos Williams: Selected Poems

I know how brilliant, informed and educated you all are– so I must ask, is there anyone reading this that was familiar with all of these poets? Or like me, are there some of you who were familiar with just half of these accomplished writers? (And when I say familiar, I mean that I’ve heard of their names, not that I know their poems well.)

These books will be going on my library requests pronto, and possibly joining my permanent library soon too!

2 responses »

  1. YUM! What a list. You’re inspiring me to read poetry again. I’ve read them all except Deborah Diggs & Wislawa Szymborska; so, I’ll be checking those out! LOVE Elizabeth Bishop & another one not on the list, Louise Gluck. Also, check out local poet and friend, Lyman Grant. For my very first house concert years ago, I asked Lyman to open the show for Dana Cooper. It was a great combination and a wonderful evening!

Leave a Reply

