Guest Post: Gratitude = Happiness?

Standard

I recently read the book Have a Little Faith by Mitch Albom and the chapter on Happiness really caught my attention. In short:

I knew depression was real, and in many cases required medical attention. I also knew we overused the word. Much of what we called “depression” was really dissatisfaction, a result of setting a bar impossibly high or expecting treasures that we weren’t willing to work for.

To these people, unhappiness was a condition, an intolerable state of affairs. If pills could help, pills were taken.

But pills were not going to change the fundamental problem in the construction. Wanting what you can’t have. Looking for self worth in the mirror.

What makes a man happy?

Be satisfied.

Be grateful. For what you have. For the love you receive. And for what God has given you.

That’s it.

Week 1 into self-reflection and I seem to be consistently (or inconsistently, if you will) hitting my goal of alone time every other day. I have found writing my thoughts keeps me focused and accountable rather than let my mind wander aimlessly. When I am lost on where to take my focus, I come back to what I’m thankful for that day and make a list:

gorgeous fall weather in KC
my beautiful, healthy, unconditionally loving pups
hubs, home today (and the entire week). no travels. hooray!
a yummy bottle of pinot noir, on sale
my skinny black pants still fit!
time to squeeze in a workout to continue to fit into those pants
sweet clients that make me laugh and my job enjoyable
pork chops and asparagus on the grill. dinner for two.

How blessed I am! What are you thankful for today?

One response »

  1. Another fantastic post, Lexie! I’m grateful for you taking the month of September to blog. It not only is helping me focus on other projects, but it’s nice to be on the listening side of this blog. Also, grateful for D being back at school, having a healthy pregnancy, getting an extra drink at Starbucks today (for free!), going forward on our house remodeling, and beautiful fall-like weather.

Leave a Reply

