Daily Archives: September 20, 2011

Guest Post: Questions to Ponder

Standard

by Lexie

“Learning without reflection is a waste, reflection without learning is dangerous.” – Confucius

Self reflection hasn’t been as natural of a process as I thought it would be for me.  I have kept a journal off and on throughout my life, however, in the past I only tended to journal when there was drama around me.  Now that I’m in my 30s (and thankfully my relationships have matured), I’m discovering that it’s a challenge to find things to reflect about.  Life is good; what is it exactly that I’m seeking? 

I do believe that the simple daily exercises of practicing gratitude and jotting down basic insights is a good start, but there are days that I want to dig deeper. 

Today, I stumbled upon a list of questions to prompt self reflection and wanted to share some of my favorites:

  • What are my most important values?
  • What does it mean to choose?  To live proactively?
  • Who am I at my best?
  • Who am I at my worst?
  • Who am I becoming?
  • What am I avoiding or resisting?
  • What would I do if I were ten times bolder?
  • What am I most grateful for?
  • What am I settling for?
  • If I knew I would die a month from now, what would I do?
  • What is my gift to give to the world?


Read the entire article here.  (it’s a goodie!)

What about you?  Are there specific questions or exercises that you practice in your self reflection time?