Mindful Binging?

Standard

This month might be a boring resolution to write about but it’s been a really great practice for me to eat more mindfully.  I’ve experienced many positive benefits:  savoring my food more, eating more quality food vs. quantity, tuning in to how I’m really feeling/why I’m eating.  I really thought I’d be able to add “weight loss” and “kicked sugar habit” to these benefits but interestingly, I only enjoyed “bad” food even more!  At the beginning of the month, I checked out  The Center for Mindful Eating for guidance.  (I meant to blog about it- whoops!)  I learned that eating mindfully really includes not judging myself while eating, which I think happens more often than I realized.  This month I really think I just experienced the tip of the iceberg;  I have so much more mindful eating to experience.

2 responses »

  1. Kari–was just reading the June issue of “Yoga Journal” and saw a little piece on mindful eating & how it enhances weight loss naturally–it even references a researcher at UT. It reminded me of your posting, so I thought I’d share with you. Keep up the great posts!

    -Kate

Leave a Reply

