Candy, Chocolate and Lollipops!

Standard

I woke up at 5:15 this morning. (My apologies for any incoherencies-ness in this post.  I’m ti-ard.)  Correction, I was awakened this morning at 5:15.  I endeavored for over an hour, trying to get my little guy to fall back asleep.  As his cries started to fade, I heard my daughter’s voice in his room, “Good morning, Brother!” I was extremely frustrated- but only for a moment because I realized I had a choice: hold onto the story all day of how miserably tired I was or just do my best and show up for today.

My husband remarked at how chipper I was considering how little sleep we had. It is days like these that I’m thankful he doesn’t remember dates.  This morning as I started the daily grind with the littles, I remembered that not only is it my very favorite four year old’s (my bff’s daughter) birthday but it’s also the anniversary of my husband’s mother’s passing.  I never met her but I miss her so much.  I know she would have been a wonderful grandmother to our children.  I know she would have done anything to have another day with her children, even if that day started at 5:15am.  Today, this month, I’m going to celebrate the gift I have, another day, another month with my (early-rising, spirited…) munchkins.

You all know how much I love to mark things off of a to do list and the feeling of being productive. However, I know that sometimes it overwhelms my life. As much as I love being a mom, it is a daily challenge to keep it together (especially when I’m not getting the sleep I’d like).  A few years ago, I created my ultimate mom to do list.  It consists of one question:  “did I laugh with my child(ren) today?”  I haven’t found anything else to be more important than this in my life- or anything so challenging.  This job is hard but there’s so much I can let go of and so many more opportunities to get down and have a ball with my little crazies.

How can I not laugh?  This morning my newly potty trained daughter leaned into the toilet to sniff her prized poop-a-doops and exclaimed “it smells like candy… and chocolate and lollipops!”

Wishing you all a fun-filled month with laughter, candy, chocolate and lollipops!

3 responses »

  1. I ran the gamut in emotions in reading your post! But you are so right….it is the laughter! You are an amazing mom and you are doing a great job!

  2. Ok, Kari, this one really got me! And while the tears were still welling, you got me again with the final dialogue and imagery and made me laugh. What more could anyone want in a piece of writing? Thanks, I needed that today.

Leave a comment